top of page

November 6: Mayor-Elect Brandon Scott Announces Transition Priorities

Ten Committees Will Be Tasked With Developing Proposals For A Safer, Equitable, Accountable Baltimore BALTIMORE, MD (Friday, November 6, 2020) — After being elected the next Mayor of Baltimore in Tuesday’s General Election, Mayor-Elect Brandon M. Scott announced the ten committees that will be a focus of his administration's transition team, along with their respective co-chairs. 

The committees represent the city’s most pressing issues and are co-chaired by local leaders, spanning many sectors and communities. Each committee will focus their work on making Baltimore a safer, equitable, and accountable city.  “From curing the violence epidemic to expanding opportunities for our youth, we have a lot of important work to do in Baltimore,” said Mayor-Elect Brandon Scott. “I formed these committees with our residents in mind so that we can build a city that’s safer, equitable, and accountable. These committees, led by local leaders, will focus on generating proposals my administration will pursue in our first term.” The ten transition committees and co-chairs include:

1) PUBLIC HEALTH and SAFETY Reimagining Public Safety and Public Accountability Erricka Bridgeford, Co-Chair Executive Director of Baltimore Community Meditation Center Co-Founder of Baltimore Ceasefire 365 Daniel Webster, Co-Chair Bloomberg Professor of American Health in Violence Prevention and Director of Johns Hopkins Center for Gun Violence Prevention and Policy, Bloomberg School of Public Health 2) BUSINESS, WORKFORCE and NEIGHBORHOOD DEVELOPMENT Strengthening Neighborhoods and Businesses Shelonda Stokes, Co-Chair President of Downtown Partnership of Baltimore Gerald Jackson, Co-Chair Assistant Business Manager for the Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union 486 3) FISCAL PREPAREDNESS Aligning Resources to Ensure Fiscal Stability and Innovation Tomi Hiers, Co-Chair Vice President of the Center for Civic Sites and Community Change at The Annie E. Casey Foundation Mark Kaufman, Co-Chair CEO of the Neighborhood Impact Investment Fund 4) EDUCATION and YOUTH RECREATION Expanding Opportunities for Youth Shantay Jackson, Co-Chair Founder and CEO at Evolve to Lead James DeGraffenreidt, Co-Chair Former Chairman of the Board and CEO, WGL Holdings, Inc. OSI-Baltimore Board Member 5) HOUSING and NEIGHBORHOOD DEVELOPMENT Increasing Access to Affordable Housing Ernst Valery, Co-Chair Founder and President of Ernst Valery Investments Corp. Richard Manekin, Co-Chair Partner at Workshop Development, Inc. 6) TRANSPORTATION and INFRASTRUCTURE Reinvigorating Our Transportation and Infrastructure Liz Cornish, Co-Chair Executive Director of Bikemore Celeste Chavis, Co-Chair Associate Professor in the Department of Transportation and Urban Infrastructure Studies at Morgan State University 7) HUMAN SERVICES Prioritizing Our People Shamoyia Gardiner, Co-Chair Deputy Director of Strong Schools Maryland Chuck Tildon, Co-Chair Vice President of External Affairs for the University of Maryland Medical System 8) GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE and INNOVATION Rethinking Governmental Operations Casey Brent, Co-Chair Director of Administration and Corporate Responsibility at Stella May Contracting Ralph Tyler, Co-Chair Partner at the Casper Firm 9) ENVIRONMENT and SUSTAINABILITY Protecting Natural Resources Mary Grant, Co-Chair Public Water for All Campaign Director for Food and Water Watch Phil Croskey, Co-Chair CEO and Co-Founder at MD Energy Advisors 10) ARTS and CULTURE Valuing Creative Hubs and Cultural Institutions Jess Solomon, Co-Chair Principal and Director for Art in Praxis Graham Coreil-Allen, Co-Chair Public Artist and Principal of Graham Projects Scott's transition committees will focus on generating proposals for how to rebuild city government from top to bottom, and ensure functioning, equitable, and efficient operations for all of Baltimore's residents.  The committees will meet with subject-matter experts, current and former city government personnel, residents and other stakeholders in the coming weeks. The proposals they generate will be pursued by Mayor-Elect Scott in his first term.  The nine-member transition steering committee announced on October 20 will review the work of these committees, guide the scope of their work, identify points of synergy across the subject areas, and work closely with the Mayor-Elect throughout the transition process.  Each committee will have a full membership beyond the co-chairs, to be announced at a later date. Anyone interested in volunteering to contribute to these committees should email  Scott’s agenda includes restoring trust in city government, building public safety and implementing a comprehensive strategy to end gun violence, and making Baltimore a more equitable city. Over the campaign, he published policy plans on good government, public safety, inclusive economic development, and Baltimore's recovery from COVID-19.  All inquiries about the Mayoral transition and ideas for a Scott administration should be directed to  To read more about Mayor-Elect Scott’s transition, visit



Get the latest from the team straight to your inbox.

Thanks for your support!

By Authority: People for Brandon M. Scott,  Leland Shelton  , Treasurer. 


bottom of page